Calming collars

Discussion in 'Holistic Care' started by Kevan h, Sep 21, 2013.

1. Kevan h

Kevan h Senior Member

Hello my fellow corgi people, just wondering if anyone has heard of or used "calming collars". Got home from work today and my wife suggested we try them for our somewhat anxious beagle ( separation anxiety), and my occasionally " hyper" Benson.they are apparently filled with calming herbs etc. a natural aromatherapy if you will. Kinda wondering if this is just another gimmick or if it actually helps, of course their website exudes the positive value of the product,but I prefer to hear testimonials from reliable sources , like yourselves, so any input would be appreciated, thoughts? Thanks!

2. Dillydoodle

Dillydoodle Senior Member

I have no experience with them but I know a few people who used the bach flower essences and some other herbs to help calm their dogs with success. I don't know what herbs are in this calming collars and googled it to see if they listed what herbs but couldn't find it quickly. I think it is worth a try. Hopefully it will help your beagle feel calmer and more relaxed. One of the people using the bach flower was a lady I met in our training class with a vizsla with separation anxiety and she said that her dog went from about a 9 down to about a 3 with the herbs...though I think she was giving it to her as oral drops vs. herbal scents that help soothe and relax the dog.

Emilie

3. Michael Romanos

Michael Romanos Active Member Staff Member Moderator

A few days age we had a two hour long strike of heavy thunder, heavy rain and spectacular lightning and at the onset I sprinkled a few drops of K9 Anxiety onto Taylor's chest - and it worked marvellously well. He was almost completely calm, certainly within acceptable boundaries. He shook very little to not at all, only clamoured around our feet a few times (but did stay close) and only once jumped up on one of the couches.