I know what I'm up against and am willing to try anyway..

Discussion in 'The Breed Standard' started by gemjunkie, Jan 2, 2007.

1. gemjunkie

gemjunkie Member

I would like to understand what someone looks for in a puppy to show? My girl is on her way to 5 months. I know breeders, having good experience can and do pick out puppies they find exceptional by the 8 to 11 week period... Um, how? I'm going to have my girl evaluated tomorrow when I sign her up for he first classes (confirmation and obedience) since the trainer for her 'class' is going to be there.

I got pick of the litter by what my understanding of 'breed standard' is. I met the litter 1/2 a dozen times for a couple hours at a time to see what the standing was of the puppies and I picked one that was in between the most outgoing and the most reserved and the one I personally thought looked the best. (No I'm not an expert but I intend to get myself a LOT more educated from here on out.)

I brought her home at a bit past 9 weeks, a little early I know but she did GREAT! I've been socializing her with people, places, noises and other dogs in hopes she will not reject another dog someday when I get one. I take her EVERYWHERE they'll let me take her in. I'm even considering DELTA for her she is SO good with EVERYONE.

Is there anything more I can do? She knows how to sit, lay and come up. Is pretty darn near potty trained (haven't had an accident for a while but she's only 4 months, can't crow too loudly yet). She will go right into her crate when I ask. I am having an issue with the barking sometimes, she is a talker.

And wow, is this breed smart or what???!!! SO true they aren't quite 'happy' with a pat on the head w/o the treat for a job well done.. :p *cough-she's such a brat - cough*

I have also dealt with the 'snobbitude' as I like to call it. I have emailed 2 local people with NO reply that are on the local corgi club. No I'm not giving up, now that the holidays are past, I'll be emailing AGAIN.